I gave my enemy a rose

It takes a lot for me to consider a person my enemy. It was my junior year of high school when I met a girl while I was part of the musical. Day one, you could tell she didn’t like me. At the time, I felt I didn’t give her a reason not to like me. She constantly talked down at me and looked at me with utter disgust. I ignored her the best I could but it was a tight-knit cast. For a while, I gave her back the attitude she served me. Later, I developed a crush on the guy she was seeing. This gave me another reason to dislike her. I watched in horror as the guy I liked flirted with the enemy. The situation caused her to mistreat me more, or maybe it was just my imagination.

In the end, I’d like to think that I won the bigger person contest. I was upset; he was with a girl who I didn’t like. After closing night of the musical, she confided in me (actually it was more like I overheard her complaining aloud to possibly get attention) and told me she didn’t receive any flowers or candy like everyone else in the cast had. I was given a dozen yellow roses by a friend, so I swallowed my pride and gave her one. At first she said absolutely nothing, but took the rose. I walked away feeling punished for my good deed, but later on she nearly tackled me with a hug, thanked me, and told me that I was a “sweet girl”. She was only nice to me for one night. To make matters worse, I’m pretty sure she threw it out at the end of the night. It wasn’t with her stuff as she left that night. Now looking back, I realized she was probably jealous. She dated two guys that shared a mutual attraction for me. I understand her disdain for me, but I don’t feel it was justified. Admittedly, some of my jealousy probably fueled my disliking of her. So I’m not exactly a saint in this situation either. She left for college and I got over both boys.

It took a lot to approach her and hand over that rose. I believe being kind is important, but you should stand up for yourself too. That rose didn’t stop her from hooking up with the guy I liked or treating me badly, yet again. Her reaction wasn’t the one I was looking for. In reality, I knew we wouldn’t be best friends after that exchange. I thought that maybe she could find it in her heart to stop being mean to a lot of people after learning not everyone was malicious. This story doesn’t have a nice ending, but that’s life. I learned that sometimes you will go out of your way to treat someone nicely and you may not get the same respect in return. You can’t control how someone will react to you. It doesn’t reflect your character, it reflects theirs’.

Leave a Reply

