My antique finds at the Leesport Farmers Market

The Leesport Farmers Market is a flea market with many hidden gems. Recently, the thought of purchasing home goods excites me. Maybe I’m just getting old or maybe I’m itching to get out of the house and make it on my own. I’ve been collecting certain things and gathering a “hope chest” of sorts, without the promise of marriage. Some objects I had collected for my apartment at college have been tossed out. I like the aesthetic of home goods from the 50’s and 60’s.

 If a trip to the Leesport Farmers Market is on your travel list for summer, I would suggest getting to the flea market early in the morning. The Flea Market is only open on Wednesdays every week and it opens at 7 a.m. The flea market is also open on the first and third Sundays of every month. The outdoor vendors need to be seen first, in order to avoid the heat. Moving onto the vendors under the shade would be the next step. There are also vendors indoors.

14080063_10202379152236294_6501268261258865187_n.jpg
Cute goats in a pen.

The vendors that have the best deals are going to be outside. Most vendors will allow you to haggle down the price. Shoppers will find antiques and bulk products sold for cheap. There are pens of goats and cows in the shade. Along with furniture, jewelry, and specialty products being sold, food stands sell simple hot foods. Not only is this a flea market, it is a regular farmers market too. Stands selling fruit, vegetables, flowers, and Amish goods are included in the lineup.

14021557_10202379152516301_8202412731502781003_n
Some perennials on sale at the market.

I left the Leesport Farmers Market quite satisfied with my finds. I bought two beautifully bounded books dating back to 1893 for three dollars. I found a set of seven 60’s style glasses for six dollars. Now my guests in my future apartment will be sipping drinks in style.

Leave a Reply

